top of page
  • Writer's pictureLisa Marten

Maui, Hawaii

Updated: Aug 17, 2022

My father served in the US Navy up until I was a teenager. For part of my childhood we lived on the Hawaiian island of Oahu where he was stationed at Pearl Harbor for awhile. The memories I have growing up in Hawaii as a child are almost idyllic, yet I had not actually returned to the tiny chain of Pacific islands until recent years for very specific Art Ministry Travels.


My first trip back to Hawaii was in 2014, but not to the island of Oahu...it was to the island of Maui. I was invited by a long time friend to make my way to the middle of the Pacific Ocean and do some live painting within the church he was pastoring at (Grace Assembly in Pukelani), and it was located on the island of Maui. I had no idea how important agreeing to this trip would be for my future in Traveling Art Ministry.


During that trip I also was invited to paint live at another church (Ke Aha Vineyard Church in Kahului...a small local church pastored by Hawaiians reaching low income local community) that I had connection with through a previous Vineyard USA conference I had attended with a team of Art Ministers from VineArts Boise (the Art Ministry at Vineyard Boise church in Boise, Idaho). The relationships that I formed with the pastors and people of Ke Aha birthed what would become a long term relationship between myself and their Ohana (extended family).


In addition, on that first trip...I also traveled over to the Big Island of Hawaii to connect with friends who were serving full time at the Youth With A Mission DTS base in Kona.


Joining the Conversation longer term:

After that initial trip to Maui in 2014, the pastors of Ke Aha Vineyard church asked me back 3 additional times (2015, 2017, 2018) to host me for short term trips. I creatively came alongside and ministered to the Ke Aha and the Ohana through live painting, collaborative art, other art activities and numerous conversations.


During those additional trips I was embraced and welcomed into their Ohana and our conversations turned to opening up the possibility for me to return on a long term Art Ministry Expedition for a year as Artist in Residence at Ke Aha Vineyard. This would give me feet on the ground hands on opportunity to immerse myself in the culture by living with the pastors and entering into the community of Ke Aha and the Ohana on a daily basis.


I returned to Maui to live for a year (September 2018-September 2019).

During that year I was able to paint live during numerous church services (all paintings that were created were for the people of Ke Aha to own and all monies were donated back to Ke Aha), facilitate several collaborative paintings for small groups and large groups, consult on art projects for lessons, create commissioned art for members of Ke Aha, be a part of several small group ministries, connect with and collaborate with local artists and musicians for art events, and get involved in the life of the community.


My time on Maui and coming alongside Ke Aha Vineyard church full time was an incredible experience (as I immersed myself with the people, the culture, the history, the stories, the art, the food, the music, the land, the language, and the deep ongoing conversations that God is having with people) that continues to help shape the future of my Art Ministry Travels.


Painting live during a worship service at Ke Aha Vineyard on Maui

A sampling of the Ke Aha Vineyard Ohana that has become my family on Maui

To read more details about these trips go to:







18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page