top of page
  • Writer's pictureLisa Marten

Boise, Idaho

Updated: Aug 17, 2022

Spring of 1999 I was compelled to take a risk and move from Seattle, Washington to Boise, Idaho. After years of living in the Seattle area pursuing degrees in both Youth Ministry and Psychology at a well known Bible College in the Seattle area and working at a secular PsychoTherapist agency for a few years doing art therapy with children, I had just made a career change in order to pursue my first love as a full time working artist.


I had installed my first ever art show in the Seattle area when friends from Boise came to view my show. After the opening we sat down for some in-depth conversation. They offered me the chance to move to Idaho for 6 months and connect into the new and upcoming art scene in the Boise area. I was ready for a change and took them up on their offer. I figured I could do that for 6 months and then move back to Seattle. I had no idea what a monumental move Boise would be and how it would soon impact my art career, the ministry I would later become a part of, and the focus of the rest of my life as a professional artist and a Traveling Art Minister.


Boise became my new home.


I spent my first couple of years painting prolifically to build a body of work. During that time I became a licensed business. Through cultivating relationships with key artists and mentors in the art community, I was able to show my work in numerous city art shows and exhibits, gained a customer base of commission clients, and began teaching private art lessons.


Through the large church I was attending (Vineyard Boise Church) I traveled to Glasgow, Scotland to be trained at a Leadership/Ministry College and serve with a church plant overseas for a year. Later upon my return to Boise, I joined a ground breaking grass roots Art Ministry at Vineyard Boise called VineArts and was trained as an Art Minister and served on the leadership team within the church.


Through continued connections in the secular art community and in the church art ministry community, along with connecting with people on various travels...my life, my business, and my ministry continues to evolve.


Boise, Idaho is still my home base.


revelatorART

This is my full-time art business. I create paintings and artwork to sell. I do abstract expressionist concepts in mixed media, commissioned work, live painting, interactive art engagements with groups, private one on one abstract expressionist sessions, mural painting.


Live Painting

I paint live as a visual experience for the audience at art events, concerts, and church services. I like to work in collaboration with other artists, musicians, speakers.


VineArts Ministry

I minister to artists of all ages, skill levels, backgrounds, to encourage creativity within community through a local art ministry. This has included coordinating/installing/curating a gallery, co-facilitating small group book studies and collaborative art activities, monitoring at community based open studio sessions, live painting during large congregational services, collaborative work on large scale backdrops, and co-planning national arts conferences. 


Marten Evergreen

I am a co-founder of a performance art company that incorporates choreographed dance, live painting, music, and story into avant-garde live performances produces for art events and private events.


Reflect Conferences for the Arts

I am part of the planning team with the non-profit 3rd Tribe for bi-annual national art conferences (originally named Creative Church Conference) that aim to gather artists and ministers together to focus on the conversation of creativity as ministry in and out of the church through interactive collaboration with artists, speakers, and performers from around the world.


Traveling Art Minister

I travel around the world connecting cross-culturally through creativity. I have found that art is a language that we all speak and it's a great way to enter the conversation human to human to build community. I partner with people through relationship who are already connecting in their communities. I utilize creativity as a way of enhancing what they are already doing. I do this through immersing myself in their culture and coming alongside them through things like live painting, small group art activities, collaborative art projects, mural work, and creative conversation to get to know people and allow for creative expression.



To read more about my art business revelatorART go to:

To read more details about the VineArts Ministry at Vineyard Boise Church go to:

To read more details about the performance art company Marten Evergreen go to:

To read more details about the REFLECT Conferences for the Arts go to:

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page